Am Am Open – Friday 10th August 2018

By |August 10th, 2018|

Am Am Open – Friday 10th August 

Ladies Summer Open Results

By |August 5th, 2018|

The results of our Ladies Summer Open are as follows:

1st place – Pat Bellis & Kate Faulkner – 45pts from Mold GC

2nd place – Tracy Ellis & Steph Brooks – 42pts from Denbigh GC

3rd place – Joy Burton & Flys Hughes – 41pts (on countback with 23pts on back 9) from Mold GC

Nearest the Pin – Sue Edwards from Bracken Wood GC

Nearest the Line – Pat Fischer from Mold GC

Seniors Open 3rd July 2018 Results

By |July 5th, 2018|

Seniors Open 3rd July Results

1st Don Wraight & Jon Falcus from Clays 47points
2nd Alan Huth & Eric Harris from Vicar’s Cross 46 points
3rd Allen Roberts & Ian V Evans from Ruthin/Pwllglas 44 points
4th Gareth J Evans & Dewi Ingman from Mold 43 points
5th Graham Lowe & Ken Wright R/P 43 points
6th Mervyn Davies & Neil Roberts R/P 43 points.
7th Colin Nugent & Rick Austin from Heswall 42 points
8th Geoff Gill & Dai Edwards R/P 42 points
9th Peter Barker & Pete Morris from Llangollen & The Brow 42 points
10th Captain John Ll Williams & Mike Hayes from R/P 41 points

Nearest the Pin:-
7th & 16th greens Keith Turner, Ruthin/ Pwllglas 157mm.
4th & 13th greens Mike Clarke 960mm. From The Brow G C, Ellesmere

Sweep for 2’s
Neil Roberts R/P 3 x 2’s
Ken Hines Padeswood & Buckley 2 x 2’s
Clive Davies R/P
Jon Falcus Clays
Russ Adamson Clays
Maelor Davies Clays

Lady Captain’s Day 2018

By |June 17th, 2018|

Lady Captain, Mrs Sue Kilday, held her Lady Captain’s Day on Saturday 16 June.

Winner of Lady Captains Day Sue Roberts accepts her Trophy from Lady Captain

20 ladies played in the stableford competition and 31 ladies and guests attended a lovely tea afterwards.  Sue raised £32 for her charity by asking how near to the line on the 1st / 10th hole the winner would be.  Vicky Harrison won  nearest the line and was 26 cm away.  This was correctly guessed by Mair Davies.  Nearest the pin on the 16th hole was won by Sue Roberts who was 37 cm away having hit the pin with her tee shot.  There was also a bunker prize which was won by Carol Ambrose.

In first place, and winning the Lady Captain’s Cup with 40 points, was Sue Roberts, seen here being presented with the cup by the Lady Captain.

In second place was Myfi Lewis with 39 points beating Sue Williams,  who also had 39 points, on the back six holes.

In her acceptance speech, Sue Roberts praised the condition of the course stating that the greens were superb. She thanked the greenkeepers for their hard word during this recent particularly hot dry weather.



Captain V Lady Captain Evening

By |June 11th, 2018|

Captain V Lady Captain’s Evening

The Captain v Ladies Captain Match was played on a glorious summer’s evening
on the 8th June.


Vice-Captain Graham Hardinges deputised for the Captain. The Greensomes format clearly suited the Captain’s team who ran out winners 4 1/2 to 1/2. Mr Chairman and Eleanor provided an excellent buffet supper supplemented by cakes supplied by the ladies.



“Thanks to you all for such a good turnout and just wait until next year, Graham!” commented Ladies Captain Susan Kilday.





Jones Bros. of Ruthin sponsor our new buggies

By |June 2nd, 2018|

Thank you Jones Bros!


One of our Ride-in buggies, purchased last year so that some of our older members and visitors and also golfers who struggle with a disability can continue to access the golf course and continue to play the game is now sponsored by Jones Bros Civil Engineering UK.


Diolch yn fawr Jones Bros.


Ladies Sleepover to Patshull Park

By |May 30th, 2018|

The ladies section enjoyed 2 fantastic sunny days of golf at Patshull Park.

The Team Competition on Day 1 was won by Lady Captain, Janet Turner and Delyth Edwards and on Day 2 the Individual Stableford was won by Sue Williams.

Mixed Open Results – Sunday 13th May 2018

By |May 13th, 2018|

Mixed Open Results – Sunday 13th May 2018

A great days golf today in our well attended Mixed Open which was played in brilliant sunshine.

Congratulations to our winners Iwan Lewis and Meinir Conway from Royal St Davids closely followed by D and K Munro from Bromborough Golf Club and in third place Rod and Kim Hartstone from Glossop Golf Club.

See you all next year!


Lady Captain’s Quiz raises £442 for NEWSAR

By |May 1st, 2018|

Lady Captain’s Quiz raises £442 for NEWSAR


It was a great night in the clubhouse last Thursday as over 70 people joined in the Lady Captain’s Quiz. Members and guests enjoyed the entertainment and a buffet while learning about the work of Susan Kilday’s chosen local charity, NEWSAR (North East Wales Search and Rescue). NEWSAR is staffed entirely by volunteers and like all British Rescue organisations has to raise all of its funds itself. As well as traditional mountain rescue it assists emergency services with searches for missing elderly, teenagers and children, flood rescue and even animal rescue. The team brought along a Land Rover Ambulance, which attracted a lot of interest from guests.

The clubhouse was buzzing with a sparkling atmosphere. As the Lady Captain pointed out, “I’d like to thank the members who did so much to make this a success and I appreciate particularly the contribution made by Mike Brady and John Towns who ran the Club bar so efficiently and cheerfully on such a busy night. Thanks also to those who gave prizes for the raffle.”


The quiz itself was won by a team of Ruthin golfers, Roger Edwards, Robin Wilson, Bob Ellis and JC, despite a zero score on the golf questions, just ahead of one of the teams from NEWSAR. Marion Henshaw guessed correctly thnumber of tees in the jar: 233.


Ladies Spring Open Results

By |March 22nd, 2018|

The Ladies’ Section finally held their Spring Open Competition yesterday, having postponed it due to snow earlier in the month.

Nine teams of three took part and the winners were  Pam Stanley, Linda Worral and Alice Owen from Penmaenmawr  Golf Club with 39 points.  Also with 39 points, but beaten on the last three holes, were the runners up Steph Brooke, Olwen Thomas and Tracey Ellis from Denbigh Golf Club.  All enjoyed a lovely sunny day with the course in excellent condition considering the recent weather.  Congratulations to all those who took part.